Nat Adderley Work Song (jazz)(mp3@320)[rogercc][h33t]

seeders: 8
leechers: 3
Added on June 2, 2011 by rogerccin Music > Mp3
Torrent verified.

Nat Adderley Work Song (jazz)(mp3@320)[rogercc][h33t] (Size: 88.77 MB)
 01 - Work Song.mp39.66 MB
 02 - Pretty Memory.mp38.81 MB
 03 - I've Got A Crush On You.mp36.63 MB
 04 - Mean to Me.mp311.44 MB
 05 - Fallout.mp311.12 MB
 06 - Sack Of Woe.mp310.15 MB
 07 - My Heart Stood Still.mp314.64 MB
 08 - Violets For Your Furs.mp38.68 MB
 09 - Scrambled Eggs.mp37.64 MB


Recorded : January 1960

It must be tough to make a name for yourself as the little brother of such a towering figure in jazz as alto sax great Julian 'Cannonball' Adderley. Nat Adderley never did quite reach the legend status that his elder sibling did, but did manage to gain acclaim as a composer, cornet player, and important cog in Cannonball's band. Nat would suppress his own solo career by steadfastly remaining at his brother's side in his group from 1959 until Cannonball died in 1975 (Nat himself passed away in 2000).
That's not to say that Nat didn't make any good records on his own, though, he's made plenty of them during and after his brother's lifetime. The one that's widely and justifiably considered his best was created in January, 1960, shortly following the beginning of his long tenure in Cannonball's band.
Work Song wasn't Nat's first album as a leader; he had by then made a handful of records sporadically since arriving in New York from Florida with his brother in 1955. Once the brothers signed up with Orrin Keepnews' Riverside label around 1958, though, his studio activity picked up. As a leader, Nat loved to experiment with unconventional formats. His 1959 Riverside release Much Brass saw Adderley construct a front line of his cornet, a tuba and trombone, for instance.
Nat's next project sported an even more unusual ensemble structure. Work Song's front line consisted of himself, a cello and guitar. It's this configuration that gives the album a unique feel
The cello was supplied by fellow Cannonball bandmate Sam Jones. The guitar was from none other than the just-emerging phenomenon Wes Montgomery (Note: in the same week Work Song was recorded, Montgomery was also recording his own masterpiece album The Incredible Jazz Guitar of Wes Montgomery).
Rounding out the core three on most of the tracks was Percy Heath or Keter Betts on bass, Louis Hayes on drums. Jazz Messengers pianist Bobby Timmons also contribute.

01. Work Song (4:15)
02. Pretty Memory (3:54)
03. I've Got A Crush On You (2:56)
04. Mean To Me (5:02)
05. Fallout (4:55)
06. Sack Of Woe (4:28 )
07. My Heart Stood Still (6:25)
08. Violets For Your Furs (3:50)
09. Scrambled Eggs (3:21)

Recorded at Reeves Sound Studios in New York City on January 25, 1960 (tracks 2, 4, 5 & 7) and January 27, 1960 (tracks 1, 3, 6, 8 & 9)

• Nat Adderley – cornet
• Wes Montgomery - guitar
• Bobby Timmons - piano (tracks 1, 2, 5, 6 & 9)
• Sam Jones - bass cello
• Keter Betts - bass, cello
• Percy Heath - bass
• Louis Hayes - drums

Related Torrents

torrent name size seed leech

Sharing Widget

Download torrent
88.77 MB
Nat Adderley Work Song (jazz)(mp3@320)[rogercc][h33t]